Skip Navigation

This is a new website – your feedback will help us improve it.

How the Council works

The Council is made up of 60 locally elected Councillors who represent 34 wards of Neath and Port Talbot. They make decisions on how the Council is run and how to improve local services on behalf of local people. There is currently one vacancy which will be filled in an upcoming by-election. The way in which Councillors make decisions is informed by the ideas of the political parties they represent:

  • 27 Welsh Labour
  • 19 Independent
  • 11 Plaid Cymru
  • 3 Coedffranc Liberal and Green

Leader and Cabinet

Neath Port Talbot is a Coalition-led Council. The Leader of the Council is Councillor Steve Hunt who is elected by the Council and leads the Cabinet

The Deputy Leader of the Council is Councillor Alun Llewelyn.

Mayor and Deputy Mayor

The Mayor of Neath Port Talbot Council is Councillor Mathew Crowley.

The Deputy Mayor of Neath Port Talbot Council is Councillor Wayne Carpenter.

Find out more information about the Mayor of Neath Port Talbot.


There are a number of Committees which all have different functions.

Visit the Scrutiny and Executive pages to find out more information about the various Committees and Panels.


The day-to-day management of the Council and its services is run by:

  • Karen Jones, Chief Executive
  • Nicola Pearce, Director of Environment and Regeneration
  • Andrew Thomas, Director of Education, Leisure and Lifelong Learning 
  • Andrew Jarrett, Director of Social Services, Health and Housing
  • Noelwyn Daniel, Director of Strategy and Corporate Services