Skip Navigation

This is a new website – your feedback will help us improve it.

Police and Crime Commissioner Election: South Wales Police Area - Declaration of Result of Poll

I, the Undersigned, being the Police Area Returning Officer at the election held on 2 May 2024, DO HEREBY GIVE NOTICE that the number of votes cast for each candidate at the election is as follows:

Candidate full name Candidate commonly used name Description of candidate

(E): Elected

Votes recorded

Bennett, Samuel John Bennett, Sam Welsh Liberal Democrats 17,908
Carroll, George Dennis David Carroll, George Conservative Candidate - More Police, Safer Streets 43,344
Clarke, Dennis Alan Clarke, Dennis Plaid Cymru - The Party of Wales 27,410
Wools, Emma Clare Wools, Emma Labour and Co-operative Party 73,128 (E)
The number of ballot papers rejected was as follows:  
(a) want of the official mark 0
(b) voting for more candidates than the voter was entitled to 238
(c) writing or mark by which the voter could be identified 6
(d) unmarked 446
(e) void for uncertainty 1,157

Vacant Seats: 1
Electorate: 986,759
Papers Issued: 163,637
Poll: 16.58%

And I hereby declare that Emma Wools has been duly elected.

Karen Jones

Police Area Returning Officer

Printed and published by the Police Area Returning Officer, Civic Centre,
Port Talbot, SA13 1PJ on 3 May 2024