Skip Navigation

This is a new website – your feedback will help us improve it.

National Trust Aberdulais Falls

The industrial heritage of this area goes back to 1584, when copper was first manufactured. Iron smelting and corn milling followed, with a tin plate works being built around 1830. As well as powering industries for over 400 years, this magnificent waterfall inspired artist J M W Turner in 1795. Today, the site houses Europe’s largest electricity-generating water wheel.

Aberdulais Falls is owned and cared for by the National Trust and features the following:

  • unique fish pass
  • visitor interactive display
  • educational facilities
  • National Trust gift shop
  • facilities for disabled visitors
  • free guided tours during the summer months

Location: On the A4109, 2 miles north east of Neath at Aberdulais.

Bus: 158 (First Cymru) from Swansea/Neath.  Also accessible via a pleasant walk or cycle ride form Neath (join footpath at B&Q) along the Neath Canal to Aberdulais Basin and Falls (approx. 2 miles).

Accessibility: Accessible to less abled visitors. Special lift provided; access through the turbine house and new scissor lift provides views above the waterfall.

Aberdulais falls