Skip Navigation

This is a new website – your feedback will help us improve it.

Statement on behalf of the Tata Steel/ Port Talbot Transition Board - 30 November 2023

Tata Steel announced proposals in September to invest £1.25 billion, including a UK Government grant worth up to £500 million, to enable greener steel production at Port Talbot. A Transition Board has now been established to support the people, businesses and communities affected by the proposed transition to low-CO₂ steelmaking.

Port Talbot, Wales, UK, 30 November 2023

The Tata Steel / Port Talbot Transition Board met for the second time on Thursday 30 November at the company’s Port Talbot site, where it agreed the remit and membership of the two sub-groups for People, Skills, and Business; and for Place and Regeneration. The sub-groups will mobilise local partners and gather information on a range of support programmes, recommending courses of actions to the Transition Board on which the £100m can be invested to build resilience and confidence in Port Talbot and affected areas.

David TC Davies, Secretary of State for Wales chairs the Transition Board, while Vaughan Gething, Minister for the Economy of Wales, and Michael Gove, Secretary of State for Levelling Up, are deputy chairs. The Board members include Nusrat Ghani, Minister for Industry and Economic Security; Henrik Adam, Chair of Tata Steel UK; Rajesh Nair, Chief Executive Officer of Tata Steel UK; Cllr Steve Hunt, Leader of Neath Port Talbot Council; Stephen Kinnock, MP for Aberavon; and David Rees, MS for Aberavon. The board also welcomed two new independent members, Katherine Bennett CBE, and Anne Jessopp. Representatives from the trade unions also attend.

The next meeting of the Transition Board will be held in January.