Skip Navigation

This is a new website – your feedback will help us improve it.

Neath and Swansea East constituency

I, the Undersigned, being the Acting Returning Officer at the election held on 4 July 2024, DO HEREBY GIVE NOTICE that the number of votes cast for each candidate at the election is as follows:

Names of candidates Description Votes recorded (E): Elected 
Chohan, Samantha Nida Welsh Conservative Party Candidate 3,765
Clarke, Helen Ceri

Welsh Liberal Democrats

Dowden, Jan Wales Green Party 1,711
Harris, Carolyn Welsh Labour 16,797 (E)
Jenkins, Andrew Plaid Cymru - The Party of Wales 5,350
Richards, Dai Reform UK 10,170
The number of ballot papers rejected was as follows:  
(a) want of the official mark 2
(b) voting for more candidates than the voter was entitled to 22
(c) writing or mark by which the voter could be identified 6
(d) unmarked or wholly void for uncertainty 102
(e) rejected in part 0

Vacant Seats: 1
Electorate: 76,291
Papers Issued:
Poll: 52.78%

And I hereby declare that Carolyn Harris has been duly elected.

Dated: 4 July 2024

Karen Jones

Acting Returning Officer

Printed and published by the Acting Returning Officer
Civic Centre
Port Talbot
SA13 1PJ